It’s Easy As 1..2..3

Eat better. Exercise more. Both things that are easier said than done.  Sure, these are great ways to take care of yourself physically, but maintaining a healthy lifestyle is more than just that.  It’s about taking care of yourself as a whole.  I’ve come up with 5 easy ways to take better care of your body that are easy to follow on a daily basis no matter who you are or how busy your schedule is.

Image1.  Drink More Water

Drinking water is absolutely essential for your health.  The Institute of Medicine determined that an adequate intake for men is roughly 3 liters (about 13 cups) and for women is 2.2 liters (about 9 cups) of water a day.  So just take it with you! My Filtered Camelback water bottle is practically attached to my hip.  Before I leave the house I just fill up, throw it in my car, my bag, or my backpack.  I found that when my Camelback is with me, it is a constant reminder to hydrate my body, even when I don’t realize that I’m thirsty.

2.  Take Deep Breaths

Breath in. Breath out.  Feeling better already, huh? That’s because breathing in oxygen works as a stress reliever and helps to calm you down. So the next time you’re running late, sitting in traffic, overwhelmed by your to do list, or whatever it is that is causing you to have a stressful day, just remember, breath!

3.  Take a Multivitamin

blogVitamins help us to feel healthy and whole.  When the food on your plate falls short and doesn’t include essential nutrients like calcium, potassium, vitamin D, and vitamin B12, some of the nutrients many Americans don’t get enough of, a supplement can help take up the nutritional slack.

4.  Remember That Food is Not Love

Pay attention to when your body is full.  Experts from WedMD provide tips to follow that will help you to stop eating when you are comfortable. A few include eating slower, being aware and undistracted while you eat, and choosing more satisfying foods.

5.  Get Enough Sleep

Sleeping impacts mood, metabolism, ability to function, and so much more.  Give yourself a bedtime or set aside time to rest on the weekends. Whatever it is, make sure you are getting enough rest! Figure out what works for you, then do it. Your body will thank you for it later.

XOXO,

Katie

Leave a Reply

